Beautiful Things

Two days ago, I was saying my goodbyes to the wonderful people I met in the reservation #39 in Shoal Lake, Kenora, ON, Canada.

It was bright and early, sun was still sleeping, birds were chirping, and crickets cricketing. Wednesday, May 23, 2012, when I finally got to meet the rest of my team mates for our Canada Mission Trip. Our whole team consisted of the following schools: North Central Missouri College, North West Missouri State University, University of Central Missouri, Truman State University, and Southwest Baptist University. Overall, there were 25 of us and later on became 29 as we added the students from SBU that was already there the day before.

Few months back before we left, I already convinced myself that I wasn’t going to be able to go due to some financial issues. I prayed about it all the time and asked God what he really wanted me to do. I asked Him for signs whether he wanted me to go or not. He showed me so many signs that the week before we left, I finally decided to go. I was able to go even though I didn’t have any money to pay for my trip. Three weeks before, Diann told me that she had a scholarship for me to go if I ever changed my mind. All along, I knew that God really wanted me to go because how lucky could I get when I was granted a scholarship to go to the trip? Because of Him I was able to meet these amazing servants of God. It was such a blessing to get to know them and be able to share the wonderful things that the Lord has been doing in our lives.

Image

The reservations in Canada has always had a special place in my heart. Last year, I went to my very first mission trip which was in Grassy Narrows (Indian Reservation) in Kenora, Ontario, Canada. The reason why it is very special to me is because that is where I accepted Christ as my Lord and Savior. That’s when I asked God to take over my life when I was a wreck. I have always been a believer but I just never lived the life I was ought to live. Knowing that I have been saved and have eternal life, it doesn’t mean my life is perfect. I have my own struggles on a daily basis. It may be spiritual struggle, mental, emotional, but most of the time, it’s physical struggles (not being happy with my physical appearance) but I know God loves me for what I am, that’s all that count. Though, I would really appreciate if you also keep me in your prayers.

On the other hand, here are some more of our group pictures. Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Things

Leave a Reply

